Interested in the Canadian Physiotherapy Clinical Specialty Program?

A clinical specialist in physiotherapy practices at an advanced level in a particular area of specialty.

The CPA Clinical Specialty program certifies physiotherapists who have focused their careers and can demonstrate advanced clinical competence, leadership, continuing professional development, and involvement in research in a specific area of practice.

This self-directed program consists of a written portfolio submission and an oral presentation that is assessed by a panel of peers. The components of the program allow candidates to demonstrate their professional competencies and development as a clinical specialist.

The program is targeted to candidates who have a minimum of five years of full-time applied clinical experience and a minimum of 300 clinical contact hours per year for the past five years in the clinical specialty area.

In this self-directed program you have the advantage of
setting your own pace of involvement in the specialization process.

The 4 Program requirements:
1. Advanced clinical competence (5years in clinical practice, 3 of the 5 years in a specialty area, 300 clinical contact hours yearly)

2. Professional leadership (mentoring, participating in clinical education, volunteer activities etc)

3. Professional development activities (academic courses, clinical supervision of students, conferences e.t.c)

4. Involvement in research (use research to inform and guide practice, apply research findings in practice, contribute to a research project

Fall 2017 program entry deadlines:

Applications due: October 31, 2017
Stage I candidate submission due: November 30, 2017
Stage I results: February 28, 2018
Stage II candidate submission due: April 13, 2018
Stage II Case Based Discussions (oral presentation): Scheduled throughout May 2018
Stage II results: August 31, 2018

You are given up to 3years to complete stage I and II of the program.

Stage I : Candidates Portfolio
Documentation and CV
Multisource feedback tool
Clinical reflections

Stage II: Case-based discussion
3 clinical cases
90 minute discussion with assessor panel through teleconference

Areas of Specialty
The 9 Specialty areas are:

  • Cardiorespiratory
  • Musculoskeletal
  • Neurosciences
  • Oncology
  • Paediatrics
  • Pain Sciences
  • Senior’s Health
  • Sport
  • Women’s Health

Fees for CPA Members:
Application fee: $500 (non-refundable)
Stage I fee: $1200
Stage II fee: $950
Total: $2150

Fees for Non-Members:
Application fee: $500 (non-refundable)
Stage I fee: $2200
Stage II fee: $1300
Total: $3500

 For more information email [email protected]
Or visit their website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *